Topic: Te Kuiti High School

Topic type:

Te Kuiti High School is located in the heart of the Waitomo District and prides itself on providing a safe and caring environment where staff and students work together toward common goals. The school was officially opened in 1955 and its motto "Semper Paratus - Always Prepared" still inspires staff and students today.

Te Kuiti High School currently has has a roll of 320-350 students in years 9-13 (3rd to 7th form). It is a community, co-educational school with high expectations and standards. Students are encouraged to learn, work hard, try new things and develop leadership so that they leave the school as mature, upright young people.

Since its official opening on the 2nd of February, 1955 the school has had seven principals:

Bert Dreaver (1955-58);

Pat Kane (1958-1971);

Ross Bailey (1972-1978);

Graeme Cowley (1978-1984);

John Greenhill (1984-1997);

Bruce Dale (1997-2003); and

Bruce Stephens (2003-present).

Mr Stephens has more than 30 years association with the school having worked in the roles of assistant teacher, fulltime teacher, head of the commerce department, dean, assistant principal, deputy principal and principal. His wife Robyn and son David (Rawiri) are also teachers at Te Kuiti High School, with daughter Lara having previously taught at the school.

Te Kuiti High School celebrated its 50th anniversary during Easter 2005 attracting about 700 former staff and students to renew past acquaintances. Staff and students of Te Kuiti District High School, which preceded Te Kuiti High School and catered for children from aged 5 to school leaving age, also joined the celebrations.

Discuss This Topic

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion